MENU

What do our clients think about MiWay's service?

This transparent Compliments & Complaints forum is the first of its kind in South Africa where an insurer actively encourages its clients to speak out about their service experiences.

Customers can tell us what's making them happy and where we need to improve, secure in the knowledge that their comments are taken seriously and that their feedback, good or bad, is appreciated.

35505 comments and counting...

From Ahmed on Aug 16, 2018

Lonwabo Mdepa has been amazing in assisting me with my claim. Excellent customer service.

MiWay's response on 16.08.2018 12:01
We are so glad to hear that Lonwabo assisted you as nicely as she did - we’ll be sure to high five her for a job well done!

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From PRISCA MALAMULE on Aug 16, 2018

Mpho was great

MiWay's response on 16.08.2018 08:51
Thanks for the positive review for Mpho!

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Antoinette on Aug 15, 2018

Thank you Mpho for your great and kind service.

MiWay's response on 16.08.2018 08:52
Mpho strikes again! He is truly one of the best - we will be sure to pass your lovely message on to him.

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Neiveus Nkomo on Aug 15, 2018

excellent service

MiWay's response on 15.08.2018 16:24
Thanks for commenting on excellent service.

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Frans on Aug 15, 2018

Many thanks to Yolandi Moyse who provided me with excellent, prompt and efficient service. I am very satisfied with Miway's service!

MiWay's response on 15.08.2018 16:29
We really appreciate the positive review for Yolandi and we’re sure that she will too. Thanks so much!

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Samantha on Aug 15, 2018

Super fast effective clear helpful Leonard was great - Thanks o much this was a happy stress free claim solved in less than 24 hours

MiWay's response on 15.08.2018 16:18
Awesome! We love hearing from happy clients like yourself. Thanks for letting us know how efficient Leonard was when assisting you.

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From keaobaka on Aug 15, 2018

Sihle's service was very best

MiWay's response on 15.08.2018 16:20
Sihle is the best! Thanks for showing recognition where it is due.

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From elrica on Aug 5, 2018

i had an accident where miway told me te guilty party confessed and we had a witness. miway said because the other party was with hollard it wouldnt be difficult to get excess backbas you work together. you came back to say i can get 80% back but i said no because i was 100% innocent. its been more than a year and a half and your lawyers still cant get my excess back so when i now want the 80% back at least now it seems like a problem. i have complained in hello peter and i have phoned and email miway so many times. every time your contact centre says they cant help so why is miway not taking my complaint seriously and why not follow up with lawyers or try to HELP me. your service sucks really really bad. you are very helpful every time i want to add stuff to my policy because it means money to you and when i need you you fail me. some customers on hello peter says the lawyers kept them in the loop if things so why not me? why can that be done for me?

MiWay's response on 06.08.2018 12:03
We are sorry for the lack of feedback experienced here – it is never our intention to cause you any hassles.  We have heard back from our Legal Team and we believe that they have since been in touch with you and provided feedback.  They will keep you in the loop going forward as and when necessary.

Until such time, we urge you to give us a call should you need help with anything else.

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Elize Barnard on Jul 27, 2018

I wil never recommend MiWay for any insurance as I have been waiting months now for my excess amount to be refunded. Every week that my Insurance or myself phone Michelle le Roux from MiWay, whom is handling the claim, she says it will be paid on Friday. Every Week the same story.

MiWay's response on 27.07.2018 17:03
Thank you for you note and we are sorry to hear that you feel this way.  We believe that Michelle has been providing updates on the refund for your client’s excess.  This is a lengthy process and she will keep you in the loop going forward.

Until such time we urge you to give us a call should you need any further clarity.

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Angela Moody on Jul 26, 2018

I am disgusted at MiWays service. I need to cancel my policy and I will be taking this matter further if nobody gets back to me within 72 hours because I have been getting the run around since last week. I have never experienced such pathetic service. I sent an email last week regarding my cancellation request and nobody has contacted me back. I phoned 3 times last week and all 3 times the cancellations department 'was busy' and someone would call me back which never happened. I called 5 times today and have still not spoken to either some senior or in the cancellation department. Absolutely pathetic. I can only imagine what would happen if I had decided to stay with your company.

MiWay's response on 26.07.2018 13:54
We’re sorry to hear that you feel this way and assure you that it is never our intention to upset you in any way. Boitumelo has been in touch to assist with the cancellation as requested and he also mention the refund due to you.

Please don’t hesitate to give us a call if there's anything else we're able to help with.

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Chantel on Jul 24, 2018

Good Day, I am paying this insurance for 6/7 Years , I have never claim once on this insurance. I am very unhappy and considering to cancel this policy. Sunday I had a break down after 6/7 Years and previously I was also insured with MiWay so I am a very loyal customer with/ for MiWay. 1. The reason I took this policy out was because if you have a break down you can call and they come tow. Sunday (22 July 2018) I had a Break down , before they could even come tow me they had to quote me an additional fee!!! For what because I am paying this insurance every month. Why did I have to pay an additional fee and I can tell you that this tow that they did for me on Sunday was most properly over R 2000. 2. The second reason why I told this policy , if SOMETHINGG Happens to me or my family along the road , I does my family get home. I had to pay on Sunday extra moneys for the tow and extra monies for my family to get home , so I am just wondering , if I had a break down in Durban I would have paid 5000 extra for tow and plus see that my family gets home 4000, this would have cost me +- 10 000 and still need to fix the car , so I am just wondering if I had to be in an accident what will happen. 3. To tow the car from that place to the mechanic was going to cost me more than home so I decided to tow the car home , because I did not have that type of money , this is ridicules. The mechanic came out and I called MiWay today , MiWay is telling me they going to charge me, what rubbish is this. I need to fix my car it cost me money , I need to tow my car and I am still charged after paying MiWay every month for more than 8 or 9 years , my first claim after 6/7 years , I am receiv

MiWay's response on 24.07.2018 14:13
We understand your unhappiness and we apologise for any inconvenience we have caused you. We appreciate the chance given to Ntokozo to explain in detail how the tow works.

Please be assured of our commitment to always impress our client and we urge you to let us know if you need help with anything else!

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Nikita van set Mescht on Jul 23, 2018

The service I received from Miway to cancel my policy was appauling. When I made the call to change my debit order bank account I was told first my premium changed, secondly that I can cancel my policy ANYTIME without extra charge. This is now not however the story from the next person who was extremely rude to me on the phone. I will be taking this matter further as I have been with Miway for 10 years and always thought they were the best company this is however nonsense as I am treated like rubbish by the staff.

MiWay's response on 26.07.2018 17:03
Thanks for bringing this to our attention and please accept our sincere apology for any hassles you have experienced. Khulu has since been trying to get in touch concerning your query but unfortunately been struggling to reach you.

Please give us a call as soon as you have the chance. Thanks

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Oswald on Jul 20, 2018

Cancel my policy please i do not appreciate being threatened with high excess or premiums after 4 years and 2 claims . i have found a different insurer so please cancel my policy before the next debit order in deducted.

MiWay's response on 20.07.2018 12:30
Thanks for the note! We have cancelled the policy and we urge you to feel free to let us know if you need help with anything else.

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Wesley Snyman on Jul 19, 2018

Planning on removing all my vehicles from Miway

MiWay's response on 20.07.2018 09:01
Thanks for taking the time to write to us - Quintin has since called to discuss your concerns with you in more detail and we’re happy  to hear you stay.

We urge you to give us a call if there's anything else we're able to help with.

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Colin on Jul 19, 2018

I have been waiting days now to get a quote for motorcycle insurance, I'm a existing client. But I think not for much longer.

MiWay's response on 19.07.2018 09:35
Please accept our apology for keeping you waiting and thanks for giving us a chance to show you just how serious we are about delivering awesome service. 

Latisha has been in touch and, we urge you to give us a call if there's anything else we're able to help with.

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Luke du Toit on Jul 18, 2018

Good day, I have been a member of Miway for over 2 years and in total, I have had comprehensive vehicle insurance for over 10 years. In June of this year I was involved in an unfortunate accident in which my car was written off. This was the first time I have ever claimed from an insurance company and although I am very great full for Miway's service, I was shocked to learn that my new insurance premium (for my new car) is almost three times what is was before the accident occurred (R650 to now R1500). I cant help but feel like I'm being treated like a criminal with my monthly premium being shot up through the roof to an almost unaffordable rate. I ask that you guys please review my premium to a more manageable cost. I would hate to have to leave Miway after the great service you have provided me so far. Kind Regards Luke du Toit

MiWay's response on 20.07.2018 08:55
Sorry that your recent service experience  has left you feeling let down and undervalued! Umphile has since been in contact to update your policy and we thank you for giving us another chance to make things right.

Please be assured of our commitment to always deliver awesome service and please let us know if you need help with anything else!

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Dan on Jul 18, 2018

I keep getting messages from miway that I need to take my vehicle for inspection yet I did this this and sent proof via to miway consultants twice. This must stop

MiWay's response on 20.07.2018 12:50
We need to unconditionally apologise for any inconvenience we have caused you and for not getting things right. Sifiso has since been in touch to fix things and, he also assured you that we will do our best to avoid such.

Please let us know if you need help with anything else!

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From deon on Jul 18, 2018

After yesterday poor assistance from Miway, i decided not to exept the upgrade of my policy regarding the Toyota Camry, please rectified this and take the Camry of my policy, please notify me via email that your Company receive this request, if any extra premuim go of in the next 3 day's i will return the debit order via FNB and please notify me what month is my 3 years of no claim repayable regarding my premuims, i want to cancel my policy after that, i'm not saticfied the way i was treaded yesterday by your Company

MiWay's response on 20.07.2018 11:01
We’re so sorry to hear you feel this way and, we assure you that this is not the kind of service we aim to deliver. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to help with your concern in more detail and please be assured of our commitment to always deliver awesome service.

We urge you to give us a call if there's anything else we're able to help with.

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Micaela Diaz on Jul 18, 2018

 

I have received the worst service from and agent named Tebogo/Elizabeth in the last week and a half. My cellphone was stolen on Saturday the 7th of July i called in to register my claim on Monday the 9th of July when i was told that my cellphone the I phone 7 Plus was not on the system, i know that i added my cellphone i was just not sure when and then asked the agent to please find the recording of the call held, she then advised that she was only able to find a call where i wanted to cancel my policy which was the incorrect call and i asked her to please get the call before that where the information and contents ere changed. i then spoke to Leon/Leonard on the same day who advised that this would take 24-48 hours to resolve... I then called in again on 11th July and spoke to Alex who advised that she will put a note on the system for someone to get back to me, I got a call on 13th of July late afternoon from Lebogang stating that they have found the call where i wanted to cancel after previously telling her that that was the incorrect call she again advised that she will get back to me, THIS DID NOT HAPPEN. I then called in again on 16th July and Spoke to Lethabo who advised he would escalate and get back to me, THIS TOO DID NOT HAPPEN. I called in again on 17th July and spoke to Collen who in turn put me through to Leon at which point i have had enough of the back and forth as i know that i have added the phone and the calls are supposed to be recorded why is it so difficult to locate the correct call. Leon then called me back ON THE SAME DAY to advise that he was able to find the call in less than 4 hours, now my question is why did it take Lebogang so long????

MiWay's response on 24.07.2018 16:29
Please accept our sincere apology for the let-down – it is never our intention to cause you any hassles.  We believe that you have since been in touch with Mukovhe to discuss the way forward with you claim.  We are happy to hear that a solution has been made and that you are satisfied with the feedback.

Please don’t hesitate to give us a call should you need anything else.

Best regards,
The MiWay Team

From Erna Muller on Jul 18, 2018

Dear Miway I have lodgel a claim months ago after a accident, the car's only damage was the two front doors and a panel, easily fixable. However your accessor Mr Ruan van Zyl wrote the car off. I did not accept that and contacted Hyundai and the preferred panelbeaters of Miway, Malmesbury Panelbeaters all of who are members of SAICA and so is Miway. The end result is months later after I managed to get both Hyundai and the panelbeaters to better the quotes considerable and taking the buy back option to save the car, the total pay out from Miway to me calculated according to Miway's formula, I am still waiting to hear anything. I have made for the last few weeks daily calls to Saipati Ngake she is never available, I have several calls to Mr Ruan van Zyl left messages he never calls back. I am now taking my option of going to the ombudsman unless we can settle this claim.. I have recorded all my conversations and kept notes on talking to whom and times and dates of calls that is never answered or returned. I will be posting this on Hello Peter and other social media. Please contact me asap. Kind Regards Erna Muller 0844441710

MiWay's response on 19.07.2018 10:35
Thank you for taking the time out to write to us – we value your feedback.  We believe that Ruan has been in touch with you to discuss the way forward with your car.  Please don’t hesitate to give us a call should you need anything else going forward.

Best regards,
The MiWay Team